Getting rid of the losers

Many years back I was persuaded by a broker to buy shares in a business that was paying a substantial (I think it was 6-8%) dividend.  I was making my annual Roth IRA deposit and it sounded like a good deal.  I knew nothing about the company and asked even less, trusting the friendly broker who I mistakenly perceived as caring about my financial success.  Well, the company went downhill and was taken over by another and bottom line is I lost the equivalent of one year’s contribution.  

So, fast forward to now and I’m still sitting on this loser because a) its an a Roth and I can’t get a tax benefit for the loss b) the new company is still paying a dividend which would make up the loss in about 10 years.  I did some research and discovered I could claim the loss **IF** I closed out the entire Roth IRA.  I consulted a financial blog I follow and got various comments the most meaningful ones were “would I buy this stock again?” and “what could you earn if you sold and invested the proceeds?”  

Duh.  I think I knew I wanted to sell I just wanted a little push.  Which seems to be a pattern with my investing.  I’m not courageous enough to make a decision on my own.  I want to discuss it and have reinforcements, although it is still my decision and I own it.  

So today I put in a sell order.  I immediately felt relieved.  Good move.

About Bonnie Belza

avid reader, computer geek, genealogist, technical writer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Getting rid of the losers

  1. KC Skinner says:

    The learning from this is to stay on top of all your investments – including the ones that were supposed to be an out of sight, hold until retirement ones. Good advice for us all.

Leave a Reply

